about the pool

I realized the “illusion” I referred to was probably the simple result of my poor eyesight and that perhaps I am the only one who can see the navy blue circles in the tiles. Trying to make sense of things is something I need to be wary of. I was trying to relate my observations in the pool to some things I have begun to see in my life, but I without any direction, my observations were not much more than, well, observations. If we look for it, we can see that God’s presence is evident in the minutest detail in our lives, yet I need be careful I don’t try making analogies and lessons without God’s guidance, or it ends up being a loose cannon and not making much sense. While I can draw a lesson or analogy from nearly anything, I want to make sure it is purely what He is trying to say or teach me, which happens through prayer and He gives me a peace about it. We can rejoice in what we see God working out in our daily lives as well as His display in his wonderful creation. Too often, I feel we Christians can begin to  make everything too “spiritual” though and miss some simple pleasures in life. I like to revel with the author of Ecclesiastes sometimes, although he is rather cynical, he makes some good points about man’s life on earth.

“What profit has a worker from that in which he toils? I have seen the God-given task with which the sons of men are to be occupied. He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from the beginning to the end. I know that nothing is better for them than to rejoice, and do good in their lives,  and also that every man should eat and drink and enjoy the fruit of his labor-it is the gift of God. ” Eccl.3:9-13

It’s in the Bible. I think I can justify my relaxing days of summer for once, after all that non-stop work all year long. I better be careful how I interpret the Bible… Here’s the warning to heed from today: Do not add or take away anything to God’s word or try to interpret it in your own way. We should always ask Him to reveal it to us and give us wisdom to understand it. James says, “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him.” (1:5) Be careful what wisdom you ask for. I would like  God to give me wisdom of understanding, and the capacity to know what to do with it to aid other’s lives.

For an article on wisdom, read my dear friend Jayson Sherrod’s essays on The Pursuit of True Wisdom. It’s good stuff-deep theological and philosophical reasoning, all under guidance of prayer. It’s no light reading.

http://sites.google.com/site/thepursuitoftruewisdom/

Leave a Reply

