Bookshelves

The books on a person’s personal bookshelf say a lot about them (or the magazines, or lack of books likewise). One rainy afternoon recently I was inspecting the books in the shelves of the cherry wood cabinet in my bedroom at my family’s house, and well, had make a revelation out of it. This cabinet is very special to me as it was passed down from my maternal grandmother, and I have tried to only put my favorite books in its lower shelf. It doesn’t get used much, only once or twice a year when I return home and its shelves mostly display my childhood awards and nick-knacks, most of them ballerina snow globes or figurines, jewelry boxes, teddy bears dressed out in costume array, and other trinkets. I was looking for children’s books for inspiration to write my own (my most recent creative scheme), and I knew my beloved Angelina Ballerina book was there somewhere. She was my favorite story book character when I was young, and my Mom likes to tell the story of how I would cry if we went to the library and all the Angelina Ballerina books were checked out.

I think one’s books give pretty accurate insight into the type of person they are, or have been. I find it quite interesting what my books say about me. I’ll let you see for yourself. This sounds so corny, but I’m going to keep on with my licentious ruminations until I have finished compiling this list.

  • A Collection of Classical Ballet Variations
  • Dance Writing Shorthand for Classical Ballet
  • To Dance, To Live
  • The Dancer’s Survival Manual
  • Classical Ballet Technique
  • New York City Ballet Workout
  • Angelina Ballerina
  • The Dancer’s Body Book
  • The Dancer’s Foot Book
  • How Thin People Think
  • Classical Ballet Terms Dictionary: Cecchetti
  • Cecchetti Method of Ballet books level 2-5
  • The Manual, Cecchetti Method of Ballet
  • 101 Stories of Great Ballets
  • Ballet Shoes
  • Anna Pavlova: Genius of the Dance
  • Portraits: Dancing Through Fire
  • Pilates Handbook
  • Words Can Describe
  • In Defense of Food, Michael Pollan
  • Jane Austin’s The History of England by a partial, prejudiced & ignorant Historian
  • Northanger Abbey
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Scottish Histories’ Mary Queen of Scots
  • The Roots of Desire
  • Lonely Planet’s Europe on a Shoestring
  • Cecchetti Method Examination certificates
  • 3 magazine holders full of Pointe Magazine from 1999
  • Dance Magazines
  • Journals, composition books
  • Decorative Beading
  • Train Your Brain
  • The Sugar Solution Cookbook
  • Cooking Light Annual Recipes 2005
  • World’s Healthiest Foods
  • C.S. Lewis’ Mere Christianity
  • Jana’s Journal
  • Touch Points for Students, God’s Answers for Your Daily Needs
  • Joy & Strength devotional
  • Boy Meets Girl by Joshua Harris
  • I Kissed Dating Goodbye, also by J. Harris
  • Sex, Love, &Romance (don’t get any ideas. It’s by A Beka Book)
  • Every Young Woman’s Battle
  • The Confident Woman
  • Peace Like a River
  • The Key to Zion, from
    Thoene’s The Zion Chronicles
  • The Assignment, Mark Andrew Olsen
  • J.R.R.’s entire The Lord of the Rings
  • The Hobbit
  • More Love to Thee, Elizabeth Prentiss
  • Stepping Heavenward, E. Prentiss
  • The Known World
  • Anne of Green Gables, Anne of the Island
  • Gideon’s Gift
  • SSLC Year book 2003/2004 and 2004/2005
  • Collection of State quarters I never finished
  • Psalms

So there it is! I think you should have a rough idea of what my interests are by now. Good thing I didn’t have any of my English literature and History books for university up there!

One response to “Bookshelves

  1. Pingback: Ballet Terms Dictionary | BALLET DANCE

Leave a Reply

