LEAN, MEAN DANCING MACHINE

That’s my new mantra for the month of September, and October, and November…  I have to owe the phrase to Susan Anderson, director of the Dance Department here at USC. I’m technically a Dance major again, as well as English, a necessary evil – the dance, not the English degree. But if it gets me dancing on stage again, I will do whatever it takes. I really want to be at my best next time I try to put on a costume to perform “Great Galloping Gottschalk”, which looks like it will be in 2 and a half short months.  Rehearsals this past week with Jeff Gribler from Pennsylvania Ballet have lifted my spirits so much. I am truly grateful to be in the studio with him, and after such a long a sabbatical from ballet too! I just want to tell everyone how happy I am to be in the studio again! But the leotard and tights thing is stumping my joy a bit…

I am working with the same nutritionist who helped me get over bad habits before. I really just like chatting with her and I wanted to be back in her life. Deborah and I get along great . Except when she told me my body fat percentage was way over what I thought it was… If there is one thing I have learned over my time worrying about my weight as a dancer, it is that I cannot go on a “diet” because somehow my body rejects those thoughts and battles against them. A change in lifestyle, constituting a clean-up of my eating habits is what is in charge. I can happily say that I have gone the complete other end of the spectrum from obsessing over what I put into my mouth, and it’s hard to harness my self will and put it back on track. I need accountability, which is why I see Deborah and why I am blogging about it. Once I tell people what I intend on doing, I feel this impending need to complete what I said I would do. It’s like I have to live up to it, something that I wouldn’t necessarily do just for myself. So hopefully this tactic will work for sticking to my meal plan outline she gave me as well. Ugh, I have to eat meals, and at normal times of the day?! What a chore!

If you were hoping for dieting advice from me, it’s not here, I’ll just tell you now. I’m awful at it, and I love eating. I am a vegetarian and I have a sweet tooth to more than make up for the meat I don’t eat. I really like Michael Pollan’s book “In Defense of Food” I read this summer. http://michaelpollan.com/books/in-defense-of-food/ It is the most convincing, eye-opening examination of the Western food industry we suffer from, and realistic, simplistic advice. I haven’t read “Eat, Pray, Love”, but I would like to, although I have been told not to waste my money going to the theater to see the film, but to just wait until it comes out on DVD. http://www.elizabethgilbert.com/eatpraylove.htm I am ecstatic that two frozen yogurt places opened in Columbia near where I live and on campus. I wish I could go to the farmers market or orchard everyday and pick out fresh produce to eat. The markets in San Fransisco Bay Area are the best I have ever seen. One day when I finally settle down and have a real house I want to have a garden, but I am afraid I didn’t inherit my mother’s green thumb and will probably forget to water it or something. I have killed herbs in my windowsill before.

I don’t know why this has become my topic to blog about tonight, I guess because dance and being the studio has been on my mind, and I am trying to stay away from our well-stocked fridge and cupboards for the rest of the night. (The carton of chocolate soy milk in the fridge is calling my name.) I love having a full fridge. Trust me, it doesn’t happen very often living as a poor college student. I always need excuses to bake cookies or cakes, so I am compiling a list of friends’ birthdays coming up I can make them for. Do let me know if you want to be included on the list.

One response to “LEAN, MEAN DANCING MACHINE

Leave a Reply

