Pink Tights Ballet Count Down…

This is the first of a series of posts counting down the weeks till I have to appear in pink tights onstage at the Koger Center in Raymonda and Great Galloping Gottschalk! I have six weeks, as of today, Saturday October 9, 2010. Call me crazy, but I am trying to wrap my head around this and get the motivation from somewhere, anywhere, to get as skinny as healthily possible in six weeks for this performance. I never thought I would ever be performing in pink tights again! Last time I wore them was, um, almost 3 years ago! While I’m elated to be dancing and potentially performing again, I was not prepared for this. Trust me, it takes some mental preparation to appear in pink tights and a tutu after a sabbatical from ballet. I am hoping that writing about it will do the trick for me since seeing myself in a leotard in front of the mirror everyday clearly isn’t enough.

Day 42: Walked to Earthfare and bought organic produce and walnuts and maple syrup for my salad (below) in efforts to begin eating mostly a diet of plant foods. It worked all day while I was home catching up on school work, until I felt the need to do something with the rest of the brownies I made for my friend’s birthday but was unable to deliver them because she decided to go out of town!!! I find that if I prepare food on the weekend for during the week when I have no time to cook, I eat better. So here are some of my recipes that I thought I’d share, just in case someone is crazy enough to read this blog of mine; they better get something in return:

Beet, broccoli, and goat cheese salad:

  • 4 medium beets, trimmed and scrubbed
  • ½ cup chopped walnuts
  • 3 Tbs pure maple syrup
  • ½ cup frozen orange juice concentrate
  • ¼ cup balsamic vinegar and evoo
  • 4 ounces goat cheese
  • 1 head of broccoli, rinsed and cut into florets
  • Boil beets for 20-30 minutes in a large saucepan. Blanch the broccoli in another saucepan until tender and remove to a large stainless steel bowl. Toast walnuts in a saucepan and stir in maple syrup until evenly coated. Remove and let cool. Drain and chop beets into chunks and throw in with the broccoli. Whisk together oj, vinegar and evoo in a small bowl to make dressing. Pour over broccoli and beets and sprinkle with nuts and generous dabs of goat cheese. Makes a large bowl that will last all week.

(Above recipe adapted from my nutritionist, Deborah Zippel)

    Mediterranean Salmon Wraps

  • 1 can/pouch salmon (or albacore tuna)
  • Chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 Tbs chopped Kalamata olives
  • ¼ cup diced red onion
  • 1Tbs. lemon j
  • 1 Tbs evoo
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • Romain lettuce, sprouts, or cucumbers if you want
  • 2 large ww torillas
  • ¼ cup roasted red sweet peppers
  • ½ large tomato, sliced
  • Combine salmon through evoo. Season with pepper. Serve rolled up in torillas with lettuce leaves and ½ salmon salad. Top with red pepper and tomato. Makes 2 wraps.

MMM Lemmmonaid

  • ¼ cup fresh lemon juice
  • ¼ cup pure maple syrup
  • 2-3 cups H2O
  • Stir and serve with ice cubes! Makes 2 glasses.
Leave a Reply

