Pink Tights Count Down Day 26

Well it’s Monday again. I was surprised to find I lost 2 lb after all the festivities of the weekend. It was so good to spend time with Rachel Monigan and her new husband Ethan – well, new to me. Once I ever settle down and buy a house, I would like to get some art work from the two of them to hang on my walls…and paintings from my own mother too, of course.

I love this time of year: cooler weather, the colors of the changing leaves, gatherings with friends, playing Scrabble inside with a hot cup of coffee and Bailey’s, flannel shirts and sweaters coming out of the closet, a glass of good brandy, orange pumpkins and squashes, golden apples baking with cinnamon… and the quickly approaching holiday season. I love any food with the color orange, and they’re good for you too- all that carotene and vitamin C. This snack/trail mix is my most recent attempt to pacify the health-nut with the candy-whore in me:

(Great for using those seeds from the jack-o-lantern and left-over Halloween candy)

Roasted Pepita Energy Mix

  • raw pumpkin seeds
  • teaspoon of olive oil
  • salt
  • mini M&M’s candies
  • dried, sweetened cranberries

Heat oil in a large stainless-steel skillet over medium heat. Toast the pumpkin seeds, turning to coat. Sprinkle with salt and continue to turn constantly until pepitas began to pop. remove from heat and let cool (or mix in chocolate now to melt). Transfer to a bowl and mix in M&M’s and cranberries if desired. Try to limit yourself to 1/4 cup serving if you’re working on weight control!

Leave a Reply

