Raw Food Trial

raw food1raw food1

Since I heard of  the raw food way of eating, I have been attracted to it for a number of reasons, mostly because it makes my body feel good and not bloated. Whenever I do a “Daniel fast” (fruit and vegetables), I have more energy and feel less tired and lethargic, just like Daniel and his men in the Bible did. Now, I am not against eating meat, but also know that we do not need as much meat as Americans eat, and I don’t like I’ve said before, I don’t like not knowing what my meat is fed or injected with, so I prefer to eat organic, farm-raised animal products. same goes for produce. Also, excess fat from animal products as well as excess sugar and processed grains are what make Americans fat, and those foods are exactly that makes me feel sluggish and bloated.

I’ve been trying for years to figure out what foods are ok to dance on and which to avoid if I am dancing or exercising or dancing in the next 24 hours…I abhor feeling bloated or lethargic from too much processed or fatty food, yet it’s like a drug when I start in on it…from cheese to granola to cookies…even Cliff bars go into this category for me. So of course a diet that restricts those things sounds like the best answer, but I know I must allow myself some flexibility as well. Ultimatums often don’t last; but then again  if you’ve ever experienced how good you feel on just clean, raw food, you might agree that it’s easy to stick to it.

Raised on a lot of organic, home-grown vegetables and fruits, fresh meat from ours or friends’ livestock, eggs from our own chickens (sometimes ducks and geese), and sometimes even fresh milk from our friends who had dairy cows, I grew up blessed to know what “real food” tastes like. Mom baked her own bread and even made her own cereals and granolas sometimes. She was always dehydrating this, or canning that… When you know what fresh, organic, grass-fed, cage-free, raw, whatever-you-want-to-call it “real food” tastes like; and none of the processed, highly pasteurized, pesticide coated,  MSG-treated food you get from the store ever tastes as good. Read Michael Polan’s book In Defense of Food if you want to get an idea about our nation’s sad state of highly processed, nutritious empty food items and factory-farmed animal products.

So I’m going on a raw food trial, to see if clean(food) energy is sustainable for my lifestyle. While eating raw takes a lot of time to prepare food and is more expensive, I think it is worth it in the long run, and I enjoy trying new recipes. However, on my budget and lifestyle, I cannot afford to go raw 100% all the time, so I’m aiming for 75% raw, and will also keep eating some animal protein sources like fish, organic chicken, eggs, and organic/ raw milk on occasion, so my body can continue to digest these foods and get the important B-12 vitamins it needs. Also am looking forward to helping in our new community organic garden Matt started and eating raw and organic free!

I’ll post occasional recipes I’ve created or found, and hope you’ll try some and be persuaded to add more raw foods to your diet too!

—–

There are a lot of great resources online if you’re interested in going raw (or part raw). Also there are numerous blogs with recipes. Here are a couple of my favorite no-nonsense sites:

Living Food Index: http://www.living-foods.com/index.shtml

Worlds’ Healthiest Foods by George:Mateljan: http://whfoods.org/

Rawfully Tempting recipes: http://www.rawfullytempting.com/

Steve Pavlina’s blog: http://www.stevepavlina.com/blog/2008/02/raw-food-diet/

Leave a Reply

