Rejuvelac

Oh the many wonderful discoveries of going raw! While making my first batch of Essene bread – I did a very small batch of sprouted wheat berries and soaked raisins and sunflower seeds – hoping it turns out, since my blender broke while trying to process it into a dough-like substance (I needed an excuse for a new blender), and used my oven on the lowest temperature setting to dehydrate it since I don’t own a dehydrator – and I was perusing raw food blogs for variations of Essene bread when I came upon this word, rejuvelac

I got super excited when I discovered that milky-white-yellowish liquid that is left after soaking sprouts for a couple days is actually a fermented tonic that is good for your digestive system. You basically soak your sprouted grains for another day and pour off the liquid using a cheese cloth to drain it. Refrigerate the liquid, and drink small portions as a digestive tonic.

sprouted wheat berries in jar

sprouted wheat berries in jar (Photo credit: NourishingCook)

I know I’m weird, but I am a huge fan of fermented foods! I used to make kambucha (need to buy another culture), and I have a kefir culture in my fridge currently (only I haven’t made any kefir in awhile because I need to decide if I’m going to spend money on raw milk or stick to organic). I think part of having an Italian heritage (on my mom’s side) has given me an appreciation for moldy cheeses, wines and vinegar. I love to think about all the health boosts people are missing out on by being afraid of food fermenting, ha!

The cool thing about not being afraid of fermenting foods is that you can get twice the benefit! Sprout grains for your sprouted bread, and make rejuvelac at the same time (continue to soak some of the grains after 2 days of sprouting Instead of rinsing the water off again) and you can even use the ‘spent’ grains to make bread again (although most sites suggest using them for compost at this point, in which case you’re still getting an added benefit rather than sending them to a landfill).  you can make rejuvelac out of any sprouted grain, but the common types are wheat berry, buckwheat (groats), or rye rejuvelac.

—-

Instead of pretending like I’m an expert, I’ll refer you to some sites that give detailed instructions for making rejuvelac:

Be Deliciously Healthy Rejuvelac

The Nourishing Cook What is Rejuvelac

Plant Foods How to Make Rejuvelac

—-

Happy rejuvelac-enating tasting!

P.S. My Essene bread turned out delicious and chewy. mmmm!

One response to “Rejuvelac

  1. Pingback: Food Sensitivity Elimination Diet | Introspection | Dance

Leave a Reply

