Going Fruity

Image

This morning I had the Big Green Fruity Smoothie to get back to being, well, fruity:

  • banana or two
  • fresh pineapple
  • 1/2 to 1 whole avocado
  • 1/2 cup mango juice or mango chunks
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup cashew milk (or other nut milk or raw kefir)
  • squeeze of lemon
  • fresh ginger
  • scoop of crushed ice
  • dehydrated or shredded non-sweetened coconut

Blend everything up real well in a high-speed blender. Pour into two tall glasses. Top it with coconut if you so desire and eat it with a spoon!


So…this past week I gave into cravings and ate chocolate and loads of fatty nuts at any chance I got. Why? Part of the reason was I was coming off my period, and I think my body wanted to refuel with iron and B12 vitamins…maybe? So I headed straight for my previous cravings – chocolate, nuts, and dried fruits. Well, these food weighed me down and I didn’t feel as light as I did the previous week when I ate more fresh raw fruits and veggies. Also, I think eating too many fats (nuts and nut butters) triggered my cravings for other fatty foods like chocolate and brownies that I typically reach for when I’m on my period. The weird thing is, before and during my period, I had no cravings and fewer cramps or bloating – and I’d only been eating primarily raw foods for a little over a week. I was already experiencing the benefits!

Just a side note – I haven’t experienced any negative side effects yet, but also I haven’t been doing it long enough yet. Many people experience some negative side effects when they first go raw because their body is detoxing. I’ll keep you updated! So far the only change is going to the bathroom more frequently…and not number 1.

Another part of the reason I caved (am trying to banish the “f” word!) was social setting – I ate three brownies at a friend’s birthday party last night. Now, I had planned to. I wanted to have one – and it tasted good (it settled in the bottom of my stomach like a rock though =p) but not great; it didn’t make me feel good like clean, raw foods do. I am beginning to recognize how eating certain food make my body feel, almost immediately – kind of like learning to exercise spiritual spiritual discernment, ha! It was old habits and cravings and that darned crack substance called sugar that told me to have another, and another, just to check and see if it tasted any better – which it didn’t. So lesson learned from this scenario is 1) don’t beat myself up for backsliding; it’s not a contest (this goes for everything in life!!) 2) have a game plan for social settings – bring something to share or stick with tea, or  3) if I till really want to eat those brownies, by all means eat one, ONE. It doesn’t taste better after two.

——
I did some research this morning – it’s a worth investing a lot of time into researching eating a clean raw food diet if you are planning to go on one – and discovered that even the raisins that I reached for last night, thinking I was craving iron and B12, are not the best way to get those nutrients into my body. This is because dried and dehydrated foods don’t retain as many of the nutrients – kind of the purpose of going raw is to get the fullest nutritional benefit from the foods you eat! ha! so I already knew that eating too many fats (in forms of raw nuts, seeds, avocados, etc) is not good for you, but now I know why it’s best to get most of my calories from fresh fruits rather than dried ones too.

For those that are new to it, raw foodies get most of their daily calories from either fat or fruit. This is because it is difficult to get enough calories from vegetables alone. Getting the bulk of your daily calories from fruit is the best option because they supply needed carbohydrates, and eating too much fat, even if it’s just the “good fats” can still cause health problems. Fats are more difficult for your system to digest and while you need some to keep you feeling full and satisfied, too much fat will make you feel sluggish and weighed down. It does in my case anyway. With heart disease running on both sides of my family, I want to avoid that. I think the diabetes genes don’t stand a chance if I’m eating raw!

So my goal for this coming week is to 1) eat less fats 2) eat as much raw fruit as I want (and veggies too).

Leave a Reply

